why isn't it good enough?

Talk about anything and everything in-law related.

Moderators: Phred, willthetruthbetold, meimei

why isn't it good enough?

Postby meimei » Thu Aug 24, 2017 12:21 am

So ILs are moving across the country. DS is 5 and loves them, and my DP were going to my old hometown for a few days, so DS and I tagged along, so DS could see MIL and FIL and say goodbye.

MIL and SIL took DS out to McDs and I came home and was alone with FIL. I didn't want to be rude and be there and not talk to FIL, so I went and said hello. FIL starts in with "You and DH are not doing good enough in life" Now, DH having just lost his job as a college instructor due to budget and program cuts at the college, so that stung. DH started a new job as executive chef at a new restaurant and is making 55K starting out. He is excited about it. I am a substitute teacher, and part time security guard. FIL and MIL has NEVER helped us out, nor did we ask them or expect them.

Then he continued that the only way we can make anything out of ourselves instead of sitting back waiting for a government cheque (WTF? we're both working...) is if DH goes up to near where they will be living and opening a restaurant, and FIL and MIL will "help" with financing and with the business. FIL is willing to do this because he is "concerned" about our financial future. If you remember, they sweet talked us in 2006 to come back to our hometown and takeover their business, that we would help them in retirement financially. 2 weeks later, they turned around and hissed that we came crawling to them and spent the days telling us we were not good enough for them and would never be worthy of their business.

My DP said, they are not concerned about our futures, if they were they would have helped us during the times when we needed it (they did not), DP said that the ILs just want to feather their financial nest by enslaving DH again.